Return to Previous Page

Idaho Places: Franklin County

  • Clifton
  • Dayton
  • Fairview 0
  • Franklin
  • Mink Creek 0
  • Oxford
  • Preston
  • Thatcher 0
  • Weston
  • Whitney 0

Established January 20, 1913 with its county seat at Preston. Named for the first settlement in Idaho, Franklin, which in turn was named for Franklin Richards, an apostle of the Mormon Church. The settlement began in Franklin county in 1860 with thirteen families.

Background & Photos provided by Digital Atlas of Idaho, Idaho's Natural History Online, Idaho State University at (accessed: October 8, 2017).


ISU: Bonner County Map